Bass Tremolo Fanatics
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

NEED HELP WITH MY DREAM BASS!!!!

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
killerhintz

NEED HELP WITH MY DREAM BASS!!!! Empty
PostSubject: NEED HELP WITH MY DREAM BASS!!!!   NEED HELP WITH MY DREAM BASS!!!! EmptySun Feb 05, 2012 7:11 pm

Smile Hi,this is my first post so maybe you guys can help me? I'm having an Ironbird bass body blank put together for myself, now i have been playing for close to twenty years, and i'm as influenced by guitar players as much as fellow bass players, so having the tremolo option is intriguing to me, and being i have the luxury of talking to the builder,(im no luthier),I have been obsessing over the details, the man putting this together for me is telling me that the tailpiece/extension for the bridge isnt wide enough for a kahler, judging from pictures, the kahler 7410 looks approximately as wide as a jazz pickup, i think that some of the ironbird tailpieces varied in size, Im gonna have him measure it tomorow, because i wanna go all out on this baby, so if anyone can give me the measurements for the kahler 7410, and possibly the hipshot i would appreciate it, i found both these brands of bass tremolos on ebay for good prices, and i want to be 100% sure before i buy a bridge, he was telling me that he thinks a badass 1 would fit, but this bridge is harder to find than Kahler and Hipshots, (and not much of a price difference on ebay) looking at the pictures on the ed roman site of the blank i purchased, it appears to be wide and long enough, so maybe there is a possibility that some kahler's were larger than others, and he is using that as a template. if not, i hope the hipshot will work, i know it requires more routing, but it dosent appear to need to be screwed on top, making it a better potential fit, so if anyone has measurements of the Kahler7410 and or the Hipshot 4 string tremol